Batteries

13 Jun

I have bought cheap batteries for my computer mouse, and now I hate myself. The pack of four cost 5 Yuen (0,79 USD). But one battery lasts only for two weeks. The cheapest batteries I bought in Germany before, with quite miserable feelings as well, at least serve four moths, and they are recycled there.

In China there does not exist a comparable special waste management. There is no national battery law. There is no recycling of the 30 billion batteries per year worth mentioning. I believe the batteries are thrown away somewhere in plain nature, each one poisoning large amounts of earth and water for decades and centuries. I imagine innocent animals dying because of my thoughtlessness. I hate myself.

Leave a Reply

